NuLogic Are What You've Always Waited For


27 Mar 2013





Photo - Jason Turner


Nu:Logic is the creative collaboration of Nu:Tone and Logistics, two of d&b's most enduring names. Their debut album, What I've Always Waited For, is out this week, and Kmag wanted to find out from them about the tracks on it, and the accompanying visual presentations which they have come up with.


Guys, good to be talking to you. I hate to talk about a “concept” behind the album and its accompanying video clips, but do you think there is anything binding the work together?

Our only focus with writing the album was to make the kind of music that we want to listen to and play out. Although we both have individual music tastes, there's a lot that we have in common, and we wanted to write an album that reflected that shared ground. It's quite a self-indulgent album really, in that we weren't thinking beyond whether it was something that we'd like to listen to. That was reflected in everything from the writing process, to the mixing and mastering, through to the track list and artwork. It's so easy to get caught up in what everyone else is doing and what's fashionable at the moment, but we were really tried to cut ourselves off from all of that. It's actually a lot easier when there are two of you working on things, as we would bounce ideas off each other, rather than looking outside for influence.


How is the album different from a Nu:Tone or Logistics work?

It's probably a happy medium between the two. The workload on the album was completely split down the middle. When we've collaborated in the past, it's often been the case that we've sat down with one of Matt's (many!) unfinished tracks, and worked together to take it to a completed state. On this album, everything was started from scratch in the studio with the two of us. On reflection, it's much more satisfying way for us to work, and it means that we end up with music that contains both of our identities in a more equal balance.


Talk to us about a few of the tracks and collaborations on the collection.

The track with S.P.Y. was a really enjoyable day in the studio. He came up to Cambridge, with a very rough sketch that he'd started on the train. It was only really beats and bass, so we worked out a chord pattern that would give the intro a completely different feel to the drop. The bass he'd written was really grimy, so we wanted to give the intro a more uplifting, euphoric feel. We wanted the tune to promise one thing, and then deliver another. When we've played it out, it's had that effect perfectly. People think they're about to get a standard contemporary uplifting drop, but then when the bass actually hits, it catches the dancefloor on the wrong foot.


The album has somewhat of a ‘classic’ sound, reminiscent of the best of your combined output. Have you purposefully tried to incorporate some retro elements into the mix?

We weren't going for a retro sound exactly, but we were definitely looking to create an album that feels more classic. There are definitely elements of D&B that have fallen by the wayside, and we wanted to bring those back to the forefront. It's a fine line between bringing elements back and creating music that's a poor copy of great music from a bygone era. Hopefully what we've achieved is an album that has elements that are timeless, and isn't attempting to jump on all the contemporary bandwagons.



Talk to us a little more about the videos – what’s the overall ideas behind them and how was it working with the director?

We started off with the idea to create a short video for each track on the album – so many people experience music for the first time through youtube that we wanted there to be something of substance for them to look at while they're listening. Rather than creating full concept, high budget videos for each track, we decided to create simple scenes for each track. After brainstorming ideas for each track, we handed the project over to Nez at Red Havoc, who then took the idea and ran with it. What we've ended up with are 14 little snapshots of real life that reflect that music, albeit in a non-literal way. One of the things we're happiest about is that the videos are a million miles away from your average d&b video.



What’s your approach to working together? How does the writing process work?

We wrote the whole album in Dan's studio as he has a bit more space and Matt brought in a load of his synths and outboard gear, which meant we had a really nice setup to work with. We have almost perfectly opposite strengths and weaknesses in the studio, which means that together we can each fill in the other's shortcomings.


What are you trying to achieve with the What I’ve Always Waited For project? Why?

It's a cliché, but we really just wanted to make the kind of music that we want to hear, and still want to listen to ten years down the line. If anyone else is into it, that's a bonus!


Grab your copy of the new album here.

    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Kmag Presents The Hustle EP Launch Party
      We're delighted to welcome Diffrent Music back to Café 1001 for our next free Kmag Presents event on May 9 to launch Arkaik's new EP. Get the latest + some free downloads inside.

    • Ethic Guest Mix
      The latest addition to Caspa’s Dub Police label is Ethic. His debut EP, What Ya Call Me, is out now so we spoke to him about it and his approach to making music.

    • Carasel and Sinai Present AFT
      Carasel recently co-founded a drum & bass label called AFT with Sinai. We caught up with him find out more about what they have in store.

    • Kmag Blu Mar Ten Remix Competition 2014 Result
      We're pleased to announce the winner of the Kmag Blu Mar Ten Remix Competition 2014 was Conduct with Michiel van Erp runner-up.

    • Abducted LTD Guest Mix
      Dubstep label Abducted launch their d&b sister imprint Abducted LTD with a compilation called A New Breed. Label boss Dorian from Dioptrics tells us all about it and drops a guest mix.

    • Top 10 Rest Of The World Festivals 2014
      After looking at Europe, North America, the UK and Croatia, we wrap up the top festivals from other locations around the globe. Check out our selections for places to check out and festivals not to miss.

    • Basher Launches PROX:LTD
      Basher on why he's setting up a sister label to Proximity called PROX:LTD and what to expect...

    • Noisily Festival 2014 Preview
      Noisily Festival returns to Coney Woods, Leicestershire for the third year, find out what they've got in store for 2014.

    • The Essential... Low Life
      We look back at 15 essential records from the back catalogue of pioneering UK hip hop label Low Life.

    • Crissy Criss Guest Mix
      1Xtra host Crissy Criss fills us in on the hard work behind the glitz and glamour, his new Trinity EP for Technique and also drops an exclusive mix for Kmag readers.

    • Introducing: Fluid State Recordings
      Fluid State owner Liquid Gav tell us all about his new deep drum & bass label.

    • Supreme Being Guest Mix
      Supreme Being has been tearing up the dancefloor with his Loco EP on Image so we tracked him down for a chat and an exclusive guest mix.

    • Top 20 North American Festivals 2014
      In the latest of our festival rundowns, it's now the opportunity for dates in the US and Canada to take the spotlight. Check out our top 20 of this year's North American festivals.

    • 86 Beatz Launch Shattered
      On May 23rd 86 Beatz launch Shattered at Bar a Bar in London. We recently caught up with them to find out what they're all about.

    • Sigma Top Ten
      With their new single Nobody To Love out now on 3Beat we asked Sigma to share ten of their own favourite tracks...



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter