MindStep Release Compilation Album


10 Nov 2012






MindStep Music's ‘The Compilation 2012′ has been 10 months in the making comprising some deep, dark and heavy tunes from some new and upcoming names. The label are represented by Crises on Rinse FM, and the album is bundled with an accompanying mix including all tracks from the release. We recently caught up with Crises, who explained the whole thing. 


Hi Crises, give us an insight into the background of MindStep.
I started MindStep in 2009 as a monthly events promotion and it naturally progressed into the label, MindStep Music in 2011 - carrying the same ethos: to create a platform for fresh, up and coming artists and producers within the underground electronic movement.


MindStep is all about thought-provoking music for the mindful listener, drawing from the deep, ambient and meditative, to the more roots reggae and dub influenced dubstep.



You’re dropping your second compilation, The Compilation 2012. Talk to us a little about the album and the artists featured.
The Compilation 2012 is a 10-track release, concentrating on the more deep and dark productions from those who I would consider some of the brightest up and coming talent in the underground scene.


This year’s compilation features artists from the UK including our first female signing Djinn from Manchester, as well as UK resident Trashbat and an exciting newcomer K-Lone. It showcases other new signings Seahorse from Germany and stretching all the way to New Zealand, Tallan. Plus existing MindStep artist, Dubtro from Japan.


I feel that in terms of their approach and attitude to music, the artists featured on this release share similar artistic qualities; helping shape the order and vibe carried throughout the compilation.


What’s the vibe behind the collection, and how is this reflected on some of the individual tracks?
I consciously intended for the vibe on this year’s compilation to be more concentrated in comparison to the first compilation release, which was a lot more varied in style.


Shining the light on the deep and darker sounds, each of the tracks on this compilation compliment and fit well in the mix with each other, as well as stand-alone tracks influencing the dynamic journey throughout the album.


Introducing the release both K-Lone’s and Karma’s resonant tracks bring their own swagger. The album gradually builds into the dance-floor bangers, as Seahorse and Six & Syte prepare to test any sound-system with their bass line weightage. Soul Captive maintains and builds upon the pace of the previous tracks, before we move into the outro from DaveHoax who closes up nicely with a deep subbed-out track.




I understood you’ve taken your time with getting stuff together for the release – what was the process and why did it take this long?
It has taken over 10 months to complete this compilation, which seems a long time, but then I feel it took as long as it needed to take. Although I’m from a fast-paced city, I am a strong believer in taking time with things and not rushing, so I suppose this attitude influenced the timescale of the project.


Most of time was spent deliberating over which tracks/artists to include the process of selecting the short list was pretty natural, in the sense that the tracks are reflective of my DJ sets/shows. The hard part was finalising the track-list to only ten – which changed several times, as you can imagine.


It was also important to bare in mind the artists themselves and their attitudes towards music, assuming we are all on the same wavelength with a shared vision. With the input and contribution of the MindStep team, I knew when it felt right. It felt like an ideal snapshot of the emerging underground scene – an authentic underground product.



You’re also releasing a mix to go along with the album – are there any surprises on that?
As well as the album being highly DJ friendly, I think its always good to have a DJ mixed version available for the listener who wants to experience the compilation with a different, but familiar dimension – ideal for the iPod playlist.


The mix is a bonus track bonus (a surprise in itself) – only available with the digital bundle purchase.



Where are people going to be able to get hold of the album?
The Compilation 2012 is available digitally from most digital online stores, such as Juno, Digital-Tunes, Beatport and iTunes.


You can also grab a limited physical CD version (with artwork) from the online MindStep shop: www.mindstepshop.bigcartel.com


There is discounted MindStep merchandise available at our events...


Just want to say thank you to KMag for this interview feature, very much appreciated - hope you all enjoy the compilation. #MusicForYourMindStep

    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Kmag Moves To Kmag.uk
      After five years we've given the Kmag site a much needed redesign and moved to Kmag.uk

    • Cold Fusion Guest Mix
      Get to know Cold Fusion, label manager and resident DJ for Renegade Hardware, and download his exclusive mix.

    • Skynet Returns
      Skynet is back with new material, a sample pack and has just made the Underfire and Audio Blueprint back catalogue available digitally, so we caught up with him for a quick chat...

    • Top 10 Free Tracks
      Our weekly guide to the best free downloads takes in tracks by the likes of DJ Madd, Evol Intent & Eye-D, Int Company, The Sect and Lakeway.

    • DLR Interview
      As he unleashes his Your Mind EP on Metalheadz, Kmag talks to DLR about his forthcoming album, getting jumped into the Headz crew, and how DJ gigs that go wrong only make you stronger.

    • Essential DNB Releases July 2014
      Our round-up of the best drum & bass releases from July features singles from Rockwell, Need For Mirrors, Slangbanger, Skitty, L 33 and albums by Bop and Technimatic.

    • Top 5 Free Mixes
      Our selection of the best mixes from the past week features Source Direct, Emma G & MC Tali, Heist, Truth and Kove.

    • Logistics Interview
      With his new Polyphony LP, Logistics returns to the classic Hospital sound that originally put him on the map, we speak to him about his roots, writing process, and the secret to his success.

    • Int Company Guest Mix
      With their first vinyl release imminent on Close 2 Death and an album in its final stages, we catch up with Ukrainian duo Int Company for a chat and an exclusive guest mix.

    • Connect With Music Gateway
      Music Gateway is a new website that helps connect musicians and industry professionals, we spoke them to find out more and how Music Gateway can help you...

    • The Breakologists Launch UK Export Records
      The Breakologists recently sold their Breakology event and launched UK Export Records, we spoke to crew member Spinout to find out why.

    • Top 10 Videos July 2014
      Our run down of the best videos from July features the likes of Enei, Ayah Marar, Histibe, Rockwell and Benny Page.

    • SB81 Guest Mix
      Having just unleashed his new EP for Metalheadz, Kmag touches down for a mix and chat with SB81 about everything from growing up near Goldie's hood to the meaning behind his new name.

    • Top 5 Free Tracks
      Our weekly guide to the best free tracks to download features Judda, BTK, G.H.O.S.T, DJ Dubsta and Puzzle.

    • Introducing: G.H.O.S.T
      G.H.O.S.T are a new outfit consisting of four producers. Their releases have been picking up support from many of dnb's finest so we got in touch with Lewis, Matt and Will to find out more.



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter