Mediks Hit The Fast Lane


15 Nov 2012





After their swift and sure rise to prominence, its time for Mediks to drop their second AudioPorn EP, Fast Lane. The four-tracker features a host of guests, and is out on 19th November. Known for their energetic, driving music, the crew are ready to take on the world. Kmag got in their with a Q&A about the release, and about what's next in their grand plans.



Hey guys, you’re coming out with your second release on AudioPorn, how’s it been working with them?
Hey! Yeah, really excited about this second EP – we’ve worked hard on making sure were following up the Outbreak release with something special! AudioPorn has been really good for us; we love working with Shimon too as he’s an old drum & bass hero of ours.



Let us know a little more about yourselves and your backgrounds.
We’ve all come from very musical background and have been producing dance music for a long time. Rob comes from a very hip hop orientated background, and Dan has been a big fan of classical music from a very young age. Whereas Ross was brought up listening to a lot of rock and metal, and you can hear the influence in the intro of Fast Lane.



Your music is stamped with your technical ability and your trademark synths – what are some of the things you enjoy about making music?
Music to us has always been about having fun because that’s when we seem to reach the height of our creative output. The whole Outbreak EP was made in five days because we were bouncing off of each other in the studio and having a laugh with it the whole time. I think sometimes, people take making music too seriously and this can create writing blocks.




Is it important to you that you make music in different genres? Why?
Making music at different tempos isn’t that important to us. We will always predominantly be a drum & bass act, but listening to a drum loop at 174bpm in the studio every day can become very tiring. So, it was nice to work on tracks like ‘Hands On That Ass’ and ‘Hulk’ for a change as it gave our minds a chance to get re-inspired to make more drum & bass.




Give us a little flavour of the tracks on the EP.
The first two tracks on the EP, ‘Fast Lane’ and ‘So Cruel’ are your standard dance floor smashers, whereas the third track, ‘By A Thread’ is more of a vocal roller. We had the privilege of working with three vocalists on the release, Texas, Messinian and Georgina Upton who can be found singing on ‘So Cruel’ and ‘By A Thread’. The EP is then rounded off nicely with a tear-out dubstep tune called ‘Hulk’ and a tongue in cheek trap tune called ‘Hands On That Ass’.



And you’ve got a few collaborations on the release - who you’ve worked with here, and is there anyone you’d like to work with in the future?

As explained in the questions before, we worked with three vocalists on the EP that go by the names of Texas, Messinian and Georgina Upton. They were great fun to work with as they knew exactly what we were going for and nailed it in the studio.


We’ve actually just finished three colabs with people that we probably shouldn’t mention at the moment, but if you keep an eye on the Facebook page I’m sure all will be revealed soon…

    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Top 10 Videos April 2014
      As usual, this month has thrown up some very special videos. We delve deep and pick out 10 of the best for you.

    • Kmag Presents The Hustle EP Launch Party
      We're delighted to welcome Diffrent Music back to Café 1001 for our next free Kmag Presents event on May 9 to launch Arkaik's new EP. Get the latest + some free downloads inside.

    • Ethic Guest Mix
      The latest addition to Caspa’s Dub Police label is Ethic. His debut EP, What Ya Call Me, is out now so we spoke to him about it and his approach to making music.

    • Carasel and Sinai Present AFT
      Carasel recently co-founded a drum & bass label called AFT with Sinai. We caught up with him find out more about what they have in store.

    • Kmag Blu Mar Ten Remix Competition 2014 Result
      We're pleased to announce the winner of the Kmag Blu Mar Ten Remix Competition 2014 was Conduct with Michiel van Erp runner-up.

    • Abducted LTD Guest Mix
      Dubstep label Abducted launch their d&b sister imprint Abducted LTD with a compilation called A New Breed. Label boss Dorian from Dioptrics tells us all about it and drops a guest mix.

    • Top 10 Rest Of The World Festivals 2014
      After looking at Europe, North America, the UK and Croatia, we wrap up the top festivals from other locations around the globe. Check out our selections for places to check out and festivals not to miss.

    • Basher Launches PROX:LTD
      Basher on why he's setting up a sister label to Proximity called PROX:LTD and what to expect...

    • Noisily Festival 2014 Preview
      Noisily Festival returns to Coney Woods, Leicestershire for the third year, find out what they've got in store for 2014.

    • The Essential... Low Life
      We look back at 15 essential records from the back catalogue of pioneering UK hip hop label Low Life.

    • Crissy Criss Guest Mix
      1Xtra host Crissy Criss fills us in on the hard work behind the glitz and glamour, his new Trinity EP for Technique and also drops an exclusive mix for Kmag readers.

    • Introducing: Fluid State Recordings
      Fluid State owner Liquid Gav tell us all about his new deep drum & bass label.

    • Supreme Being Guest Mix
      Supreme Being has been tearing up the dancefloor with his Loco EP on Image so we tracked him down for a chat and an exclusive guest mix.

    • Top 20 North American Festivals 2014
      In the latest of our festival rundowns, it's now the opportunity for dates in the US and Canada to take the spotlight. Check out our top 20 of this year's North American festivals.

    • 86 Beatz Launch Shattered
      On May 23rd 86 Beatz launch Shattered at Bar a Bar in London. We recently caught up with them to find out what they're all about.



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter