Kmag Presents Rise Audio At Cafe 1001


15 Nov 2012





Kmag is returning to its regular haunt of Cafe 1001 off Brick Lane on the 23rd November, with a night in association with Rise Audio. Appearing on the night will be TN1, Kulak, Kung and InsideInfo, alongside headliners Cause 4 Concern. Guaranteed to be a big night, we spoke to InsideInfo about the event, and he drops a mini-mix for us as well.


Hey InsideInfo, how are you? We’re looking forward to seeing you as part of the Kmag/Rise Audio night. What can people expect if they are coming down?
Really excited about this night, I love Cafe1001 and the last Rise night I went to in Brighton was sick! Set wise will be going for some of the more twisted things in my collection as well as some of the stuff I’m working on at the mo.



How do you approach playing live? Do you have a stock set for a while, or do you treat each night differently?
I have select tunes and mixes that I normally always play but I do treat each night differently. New tracks seem to crop up ever week so the set is always changing and I like to dig out old things and classics that I haven’t played in a while to keep it interesting. Each crowd in every city / club always responds to different things so I try and throw in a few tracks that I think will work specifically on a particular night.



How much of an Influence has Kmag been down the years?
I used to pick up Kmag on my commute to work when it was a magazine back when I was getting into d&b, reading all the interviews and reviews was hugely influential especially in finding out studio tips and tricks. I remember reading a big interview with Optical years ago about how they work and it really paved the way for a lot of things I do now in the studio!



What else are you involved in at the moment?
I’m working closely with Viper at the moment on a new single and some really exciting remix projects. I love to collaborate with people and a lot of new collabs are beginning to enter the final stages which I’m really happy with. I have been approached by a sample library company to produce some custom sound banks as well that I can’t wait to get stuck into! Next year I will start work on my very first LP, I don’t know how long its going to take but I have a lot of ideas for a conceptual album at the moment, just drawing out the map before I go in.






You’ve gone in the mix for us. What’s appearing on the mini-mix?

Recorded this live at home, it’s got a couple of little exclusive sneak peaks and a lot of the stuff that’s currently doing it for me in the clubs. Didn’t want to fill it with loads of InsideInfo stuff as there is an absolute ton of great stuff coming through at the moment!



Mix tracklist:
1. Usual Suspects - Killer Bees (InsideInfo remix) Renegade Hardware
2. InsideInfo - Real World (Viper)
3. Ed Rush & Optical - Medicine (Matrix remix) Virus
4. Mefjus - Stuggle and Pain (Breed12Inches)
5.Cyantific - Tomorrow People (Cyantific)
6. Telekenisis - Distant (Eat Brain)
7. Optiv and BTK - Understand (Shogun)
8. Matrix and Futurebound feat DJ Kentaro - North South East West (Ninja Tune)
9. Neonlight and Receptor - 800 Pound Gorilla (Lifted)
10. Dose - Face your Fears (SGN LTD)
11. Ed Rush and Audio - Merge (Piranha Pool)
12. Mindscape - Stardust (Commercial Suicide)
13. Chords - Videosoul (Metro)
14. 6Blade (aka Mattix and Futile) - Flash Forward (Viper)
15. Specimen A - Slam Dunk (InsideInfo Remix) Funkatech
16. Optiv - Krakpot (Jade RMX) C2D
17. Dextems - Radium (Rise Audio)


Download the mix here


    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Top 5 Free Tracks
      Our weekly guide to the best free tracks to download features Judda, BTK, G.H.O.S.T, DJ Dubsta and Puzzle.

    • Introducing: G.H.O.S.T
      G.H.O.S.T are a new outfit consisting of four producers. Their releases have been picking up support from many of dnb's finest so we got in touch with Lewis, Matt and Will to find out more.

    • Top 5 Free Mixes
      Our weekly guide to the best mixes features Mr Joseph, DJ IBM, Kulak, Deekline and Eskmo.

    • Botchit and Scarper To Release Leukaemia Charity LP
      Beats and bass label Botchit & Scarper are to release Push Play, a compilation with all proceeds going to the African Caribbean Leukaemia Trust.

    • Callide and Intraspekt Interview
      Callide & Intraspekt's Outbreak EP is set to drop on Crissy Criss' The Zoooo imprint so we had a chat with them about it plus time travel, Ziggy-Wiggle-Robo-Pop-Step and reading each other's minds.

    • Kmag presents Fluid Los Angeles
      Kmag is proud to partner up with West Coast affiliate Chris Muniz as he launches Fluid Los Angeles on Sunday July 27.

    • Free Bass Music Stage Visuals Kit
      Accent and bass music clothing label Dataset have teamed up to release a free stage visuals kit designed specifically to be mixed with bass heavy music.

    • Kmag Presents Soul Flex Digital
      Our next Kmag Presents session at Cafe 1001 is on August 8 with Soul Flex Digital to launch their new 'Vintage' LP. We caught up with Dubsta to find out what's in store from the night and the album.

    • In The Studio: Break
      Break is giving other producers the chance to add a bit of his magic to their music with his Symmetry Drum & Bass sample pack. Here Break reveals how he works in the studio.

    • KG Gives Away Massive Preset Bank
      Drum & bass producer KG is giving away his Drum N Bass Preset Pack For Massive, find out how to get your hands on it...

    • Technimatic interview
      Since we last spoke to Technicolour & Komatic they've become Technimatic, signed to Shogun Audio and have written the 'Desire Paths', which is about to drop. High time for another chat then...

    • Top 10 Free Tracks
      It's Tuesday so time for ten more tracks you can download for free. This week's list includes Spirit, Evol Intent, Makoto, Digital Niyabingh, Indivision, Dawn Raid & Jungle Drummer and more.

    • Bop Previews Punk's Not Dead On Spotify
      Kmag checks in with the genre-bending minimalist Bop as he unleashes a Spotify preview of his highly anticipated Punk's Not Dead LP on Med School.

    • Top 5 Free Mixes
      Our list of favourite mixes from the past week includes sets from Randall, Reso, Elite Force, Hatcha and Mindscape.

    • Novation Announce Launch Control XL
      Novation have announced a new mixer controller called Launch Control XL.



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter