Es.Tereo Talks Aftermath


27 Mar 2013





The prolific IM:Ltd label are roaring through 2013, as evidence by their recent Aftermath compilation. We speak to Es.tereo about the project, his tracks, and he also provides a guest mix for us.


Hey Es.tereo, tell us more about The Aftermath LP.
Hi there, the Aftermath LP is a compilation project from IM:Ltd, that features the deeper and experimental side of d&b; Music you put in your player, sit down, relax and get away from the daily hassle.


How did you get involved in adding tracks to the project?
It all started 2 Years ago, after I had my first release on IM:Ltd. Silent Dust (Hobzee) remixed my track Have a Dream and around the same time, the Aftermath LP started to grow.


Talk us through your tracks on the record.
Silent Dusts Have a Dream Remix has a very dubby vibe with a deep and moody character. It also reminds me a bit of the old Autonomic days, so it is not so easy to describe for myself. Winteria a track I did with Marlyn, is a journey to the deepest parts in the Ocean, where Winteria has it´s home. It has a straight groove plus a lot of edits and the vibe changes constantly during the track, but you have to listen for yourself.




What else are you up to in the early part of 2013?
There´s a lot in the pipeline for the next months. "Life Is Sort Of Passing By" the very first track I did with Marlyn will be released this Month on the „3 More Years“ Compilation Cd on Dubkraft Records.
On Absyss Records a 12" will drop in April with "This Is Where It All Ends" – another track I did with Marlyn. "Unsafe Operations" (also with Marlyn) a Dubstep track will be part of the "Deep Dubstep LP" (CD), on Absyss Records. And another track from us is confirmed for Samurai Horo. A lot Es.tereo & Marlyn in the future.


We’re excited to get you in the mix. What have you got for us?

I'm feeling a lot of 130bpm music recently and was also working in this tempo. So you can expect some of my new tracks, next to other tunes I enjoy at the moment. The whole mix has a kind of strong "techno"-feeling. So I hope you will feel it too!

Can you put a finger on what the ‘Berlin sound’ means to you?

For me it has a kind of dirty, industrial feeling with maybe a slightly melancholic taste; can´t describe it exactly, you have to explore it for yourself!


Check out the mix here


01: Kangding Ray - Oise
02: Dadub - Existence (Kangding Ray Rmx)
03: Lucy & Xhin - LX4
04: James Priestley and Marco Antonio - Speed (Trevino Rmx)
05: Es.tereo - Untitled
06: Skirt - Tumulto (Shifted Remix Part Two)
07: Es.tereo - Untitled
08: Boddika & Joy Orbison - Mercy (Boddika VIP)
09: Es.tereo - Untitled
10: Kryptic Minds - The Divide
11: Es.tereo - Untitled
12: Trevino - Uptight
13: Answer Code Request - Untitled



    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Free Bass Music Stage Visuals Kit
      Accent and bass music clothing label Dataset have teamed up to release a free stage visuals kit designed specifically to be mixed with bass heavy music.

    • Kmag Presents Soul Flex Digital
      Our next Kmag Presents session at Cafe 1001 is on August 8 with Soul Flex Digital to launch their new 'Vintage' LP. We caught up with Dubsta to find out what's in store from the night and the album.

    • In The Studio: Break
      Break is giving other producers the chance to add a bit of his magic to their music with his Symmetry Drum & Bass sample pack. Here Break reveals how he works in the studio.

    • KG Gives Away Massive Preset Bank
      Drum & bass producer KG is giving away his Drum N Bass Preset Pack For Massive, find out how to get your hands on it...

    • Technimatic interview
      Since we last spoke to Technicolour & Komatic they've become Technimatic, signed to Shogun Audio and have written the 'Desire Paths', which is about to drop. High time for another chat then...

    • Top 10 Free Tracks
      It's Tuesday so time for ten more tracks you can download for free. This week's list includes Spirit, Evol Intent, Makoto, Digital Niyabingh, Indivision, Dawn Raid & Jungle Drummer and more.

    • Bop Previews Punk's Not Dead On Spotify
      Kmag checks in with the genre-bending minimalist Bop as he unleashes a Spotify preview of his highly anticipated Punk's Not Dead LP on Med School.

    • Top 5 Free Mixes
      Our list of favourite mixes from the past week includes sets from Randall, Reso, Elite Force, Hatcha and Mindscape.

    • Novation Announce Launch Control XL
      Novation have announced a new mixer controller called Launch Control XL.

    • Calyx and TeeBee Interview
      As they prepare to unleash their highly anticipated FABRICLIVE 76 mix on the masses, Kmag snags a peek behind the decks of the stalwart dons of d&b best known as Calyx & TeeBee.

    • Pioneer Launches The PLX-1000 Turntable
      Pioneer marks 20 years in the DJ industry with the launch the PLX-1000 turntable.

    • Atlantic Connection Gives Away The Archives
      Atlantic Connection is giving away nearly 80 tracks from 2001 – 2010 so we tracked him down to find out why and how his new album is coming along.

    • Top 10 Free Tracks
      Normally each week we bring you our five favourite free tracks we've found but there are so many around just now we've upped it to ten this time.

    • DJ Monita Brings Back Skeleton Recs
      DJ Monita is bringing back Skeleton Recordings with a remix package of The Razors Edge featuring reworks by Soul Intent, mSdoS and Blade. We spoke to Monita to find out what to expect.

    • Top 5 Free Mixes
      Our selection of the best DJ mixes from the last seven days includes Jumping Jack Frost, Utah Jazz, King Yoof, Jurassik and PBK.



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter