Bounce n Shake With Deekline and Ed Solo


10 Jan 2012



Ed Solo & Deekline


Booty bass duo Deekline & Ed Solo recently released Gimme, the first single from their forthcoming album Bounce n Shake on Rat Records. We spoke to Deekline to find out more...

Tell us more about the album you're releasing this year, what can we expect?
Bounce n Shake will be very bass eclectic, a whole lot of this and a whole lot of that. A mixture of what we feel. Booty, jungle, soul, breaks, dubstep, drumstep, the list goes on!

Did you set out with a specific vision of what you wanted to do with the album?
Yes, we wanted to write a rocking electronic album that tells a bit of a story from start to finish.

How does working on albums compare with singles?
They take a bit more organisation as you have to work well ahead of time and make sure your sounds are on point and don't sound dated by the time of release.

Can we expect anything different on it?
Yes, I think we got some interesting mixes of fresh talent and solid, heavyweight dancefloor mixes of all the tunes.

Who have you collaborated with on it?
Million Dan, Gloria, Darrison, Sporty O, Yo Majesty, Afrowhitey. Every one is very professional and a pleasure to work with.

What can you tell us about Gimme, the first single taken from it?
It was a bit of fun really, lots of booty bass and lots or er, booty! It happened to be the first single ready to go so we went with it.

What else have you been working on recently?
New tunes with Afrowhitey.

What else can we expect on your Rat label in 2012?
Got loads of new material. New releases with UK artists like MC Sparks, Hyperactive, MC RB, Hardy Hard, Million Dan, remixes from Columbo plus loads of exciting projects on the burner!

Got any new year's resolutions you can tell us about?
Uhh, I got alcohol poisoning in Hungary just before New Year's Eve so promised myself I would calm down on the booze and run a half marathon. Ed's is to stop smoking so much.

Anything else you want to tell us about?
The second single from the album is called Paella and features the vocal talent of Christina Nicole plus a variety of remixes from the likes of Dodge & Fuski and Stripper. Our new web site is also quite dope:



    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Top 5 Free Tracks
      Our weekly guide to the best free tracks to download features Judda, BTK, G.H.O.S.T, DJ Dubsta and Puzzle.

    • Introducing: G.H.O.S.T
      G.H.O.S.T are a new outfit consisting of four producers. Their releases have been picking up support from many of dnb's finest so we got in touch with Lewis, Matt and Will to find out more.

    • Top 5 Free Mixes
      Our weekly guide to the best mixes features Mr Joseph, DJ IBM, Kulak, Deekline and Eskmo.

    • Botchit and Scarper To Release Leukaemia Charity LP
      Beats and bass label Botchit & Scarper are to release Push Play, a compilation with all proceeds going to the African Caribbean Leukaemia Trust.

    • Callide and Intraspekt Interview
      Callide & Intraspekt's Outbreak EP is set to drop on Crissy Criss' The Zoooo imprint so we had a chat with them about it plus time travel, Ziggy-Wiggle-Robo-Pop-Step and reading each other's minds.

    • Kmag presents Fluid Los Angeles
      Kmag is proud to partner up with West Coast affiliate Chris Muniz as he launches Fluid Los Angeles on Sunday July 27.

    • Free Bass Music Stage Visuals Kit
      Accent and bass music clothing label Dataset have teamed up to release a free stage visuals kit designed specifically to be mixed with bass heavy music.

    • Kmag Presents Soul Flex Digital
      Our next Kmag Presents session at Cafe 1001 is on August 8 with Soul Flex Digital to launch their new 'Vintage' LP. We caught up with Dubsta to find out what's in store from the night and the album.

    • In The Studio: Break
      Break is giving other producers the chance to add a bit of his magic to their music with his Symmetry Drum & Bass sample pack. Here Break reveals how he works in the studio.

    • KG Gives Away Massive Preset Bank
      Drum & bass producer KG is giving away his Drum N Bass Preset Pack For Massive, find out how to get your hands on it...

    • Technimatic interview
      Since we last spoke to Technicolour & Komatic they've become Technimatic, signed to Shogun Audio and have written the 'Desire Paths', which is about to drop. High time for another chat then...

    • Top 10 Free Tracks
      It's Tuesday so time for ten more tracks you can download for free. This week's list includes Spirit, Evol Intent, Makoto, Digital Niyabingh, Indivision, Dawn Raid & Jungle Drummer and more.

    • Bop Previews Punk's Not Dead On Spotify
      Kmag checks in with the genre-bending minimalist Bop as he unleashes a Spotify preview of his highly anticipated Punk's Not Dead LP on Med School.

    • Top 5 Free Mixes
      Our list of favourite mixes from the past week includes sets from Randall, Reso, Elite Force, Hatcha and Mindscape.

    • Novation Announce Launch Control XL
      Novation have announced a new mixer controller called Launch Control XL.



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter