Free Samples: Davide Carbone


02 Sep 2010



Davide Carbone


Davide Carbone recently released a new sample pack on Loopmasters called s:amplify. The follow-up to 2007's successful Drum & Bass Masterclass sample CD, it's a new installment of tight and bright drums and breaks, lush pads and FX, bass hits and phrases, percussion and more. In total you get 1.48GB with 594 samples - 371 single hits and 223 loops - and 88 patches for NNXT. We spoke to Davide to find out a bit more about it...

Tell us more about your new sample pack...
It's a new sample pack I've developed for Loopmasters. It's been recorded and produced at my new music production house called s:amplify that I run with fellow producer Josh Abrahams. Myself, Josh and several other musicians were involved in the development of this product.

How does it compare with your previous one?
Well, Davide Carbone's Drum & Bass Masterclass was very successful and garnered some great attention both in the media and with users alike, so I just wanted to expand on that by offering better, more focussed content utilising the skills and techniques I've picked up since producing the first offering for Loopmasters.

What did you set out to achieve with it?
Listening to lots of feedback from the first sample pack I set out to address some of the original's shortcomings. As good as it was as an overall product I felt it was a little over produced and geared more toward the novice rather than seasoned professional. With s:amplify I wanted to keep its accessibility for novices whilst offering more for the professional producer. So a more 'raw' production technique and breaking loops and drum kits down to its constituent parts was my first objective. I guess I wanted more versatility and malleability to the package. Even though it is essentially a drum & bass pack I wanted it to be used by producers of various genres like dubstep, hip-hop and urban - much like the first pack.

Can we expect anything different on it?
Yes. Lots of musical loops that suit urban production like piano, keys, sax, guitar. Lots of raw drum breaks that retain their nuances to give them character. Bass patches that have been developed using lots of rare analogue gear and individual and unique sounds that allow you to fit them in with your ideas, or in fact, create original ideas from scratch. Even though the sheen may have been taken off this pack through familiarity of the first Loopmasters pack I did, I believe this is a much stronger, more comprehensive and more versatile offering.

Over what period was it made?
Six months of hard work. It's not a case of hitting 'record' and making samples. It's about a conceptual idea, planning, preparation, design and implementation for each sound. Sure, the musical stuff is more straightforward but each drum kit takes at least a couple of days, each bass patch a day. So you can't work on it full time for fear of going crazy, so you dip in and out over a period of six months. The true mark of success for me is its longevity, and this can be assured in its design stage.

Got any tracks or remixes coming out soon?
Well as s:amplify, we co-produce and co-write with Carl Cox. That brings us lots and lots of tracks and remixes. Moby, Giles Peterson and Miguel Boss remixes being our most recent and, of course, Carl's album which is pretty much complete. My own personal releases have had to take a back seat for now, although I am very inspired and motivated to write more of my own tunes when time allows.

What are you working on at the moment?
Several non-disclosure agreements prevent me from telling you this! I am currently involved in some amazing developments. Projects that are very new to me but appeal to where I am at in life at the moment. Let me just say this, 2011 NAMM. I am so excited about this date.

You've been back in Melbourne a while now, got any residencies or radio shows you'd like to plug?
DJing and radio hosting aren't an option right now. I remember those days fondly, but as DJs and radio hosts will tell you, it's a lifestyle - and a time consuming one at that. I must say, it's an area of my career I miss dearly. Especially considering that it is something I did incessantly for twenty years of my life! I'll be back, but more likely at a later stage in life.

Anything else you want to tell us about?
Yes, keep an eye out for our s:amplify website which is in its final stages of development. This is where you will be able to keep up with developments but also video and audio tutorials which people have been asking me to do for many years. Much like the BS1 Records site, which is also under re-construction, and how it is a very popular site because of its tutorials and free samples.

    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Top 10 Rest Of The World Festivals 2014
      After looking at Europe, North America, the UK and Croatia, we wrap up the top festivals from other locations around the globe. Check out our selections for places to check out and festivals not to miss.

    • Basher Launches PROX:LTD
      Basher on why he's setting up a sister label to Proximity called PROX:LTD and what to expect...

    • Noisily Festival 2014 Preview
      Noisily Festival returns to Coney Woods, Leicestershire for the third year, find out what they've got in store for 2014.

    • The Essential... Low Life
      We look back at 15 essential records from the back catalogue of pioneering UK hip hop label Low Life.

    • Crissy Criss Guest Mix
      1Xtra host Crissy Criss fills us in on the hard work behind the glitz and glamour, his new Trinity EP for Technique and also drops an exclusive mix for Kmag readers.

    • Introducing: Fluid State Recordings
      Fluid State owner Liquid Gav tell us all about his new deep drum & bass label.

    • Supreme Being Guest Mix
      Supreme Being has been tearing up the dancefloor with his Loco EP on Image so we tracked him down for a chat and an exclusive guest mix.

    • Top 20 North American Festivals 2014
      In the latest of our festival rundowns, it's now the opportunity for dates in the US and Canada to take the spotlight. Check out our top 20 of this year's North American festivals.

    • 86 Beatz Launch Shattered
      On May 23rd 86 Beatz launch Shattered at Bar a Bar in London. We recently caught up with them to find out what they're all about.

    • Sigma Top Ten
      With their new single Nobody To Love out now on 3Beat we asked Sigma to share ten of their own favourite tracks...

    • Alpine PartyPlug Review
      We put Alpine's PartyPlugs through their paces at Hospitality at Motion in Bristol. Did they live up their claim of being the number one earplug?

    • Homemade Weapons Guest Mix
      Homemade Weapons has been making a name for himself recently with releases on Samurai, Architecture and Cylon so we asked him for a guest mix and fill us in on his latest releases.

    • Reso Guest Mix
      Fresh from his massive Pulse Code EP on Hospital Records, Reso delivers an exclusive mix that charts a course from the hard and heavy to the smooth and blissed nether regions of bass.

    • Spectrum Returns To Great Suffolk Street Warehouse
      Spectrum return on Sunday May 4 with a massive line-up including Pendulum and Netsky. Resident DJ Pete Spectrum tells us what to expect on the night.

    • Gamma Guest Mix
      With his gig at Kmag Presents Demand Records this Friday we tracked down Gamma for a chat about his sound and a guest mix.



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter