KOAN Sound Guest Mix


10 Jun 2011



KOAN Sound


KOAN Sound have linked up with the Inspected imprint to bring you The Max Out EP. The Bristol outfit have produced an original and refreshing sound sitting somewhere between dubstep and hip hop which has already gained worldwide hype. Kmag catches up with the lads to find out more...

How did KOAN Sound come together?
KOAN Sound was the result of a four piece band from our early teens, playing things such as Dr. Dre covers to dub versions of various Pokémon themes. We discovered the world of EDM in around 2005 and have immersed ourselves in electronic music ever since.

Describe your introduction to the sound of dubstep
We probably first heard dubstep around 2007; there was a dubstep / grime compilation CD floating around at that time with tunes like Joker's Stuck In The System and Pinch's War Dub on it, alongside some of the more breakstep oriented tracks such as Elemental's Tribute.

Where do your musical influences reside?
We come predominantly from a drum & bass background, mainly influenced by the techier side of the scene (Noisia, Spor, Phace, Calyx et al). Asides from this we're pretty heavily influenced by artists such as Amon Tobin, Eskmo, Hudson Mohawke and Reso to name a few. It's almost a cliché to say that we listen to a huge variety of music, but hopefully this keeps things interesting.

What is distinctive about a KOAN Sound production?
Without wanting to blow our own trumpets, hopefully most of our productions tend to differ from one another and explore new ideas and sounds, spanning different styles and tempos. We try to put a variety of material out there so check our SoundCloud!

How have you guys developed your sound since your first release?
Since our first digital release in late 2008 we've probably become more experimental with our music; our tastes have changed through the years which definitely affected our tunes. Melody and harmony is a big part of our productions now which wasn't something we focused on back then.  Technically we've improved since that release too, a lot of time has been spent learning the software we use (Reason and Cubase) and we are still finding new ways to use them.

You are about to drop The Max Out EP on Inspected, tell us about the release and what we can expect...
The release is really a snapshot of where we are in terms of production at the moment; it's a four track EP with two 140bpm bits and two 100bpm (ish) bits. We've been devoting quite a bit of our sets to a hip hop sort of tempo, so hopefully this is a good representation of the kind of material we're playing out currently, and also an indicator of where we're planning to take things in the future. We've already been lucky enough to have had support from people like Zane Lowe, so hopefully the EP will reach plenty of fresh ears.


INSP002 (OUT NOW) by KOAN Sound


This is the second release on Inspector Dubplate & Gemini's Inspected label. How did this connection come about?
We first hooked up with Tom [Gemini] on NYE in Brussels, just before his Blue EP was about to drop on Inspected. Ryan [Inspector Dubplate] had been playing Max Out in his sets for a while and approached us with the offer of doing an EP after the massive success of the first release. They've got big plans for the label so it's definitely one to watch this year.

You have massive support from artists all over the world. Any producers you would love to collaborate with?
Dubstep has been creeping its way into the charts so even if slightly unrealistic it would be cool to do a collab with a really good singer like Béyonce or Adele. Also we've been saying it for a while but hopefully with Culprate soon.

What does the future hold for KOAN Sound?
Hopefully more releases and shows! We've done a remix for Ed Sheeran that's going to be released on his new single for Asylum Records on June 12th. There's also a few other remixes in the pipeline which should start to emerge soon.


Ed Sheeran - The A-Team (KOAN Sound Remix) by KOAN Sound


Where can we grab your Max Out EP?
The EP is out now and is available from all the usual places such as iTunes, Beatport, etc. There should also be a very limited run of vinyl at some point after the digital release, so keep 'em peeled.

Words: Megz

Download KOAN Sound's Kmag guest mix here


  1. Kito - This City (Asa & KOAN Sound Remix) [Mad Decent]
  2. Wachs Lyrical - Butters (KOAN Sound Remix)
  3. KOAN Sound - Resistance
  4. KOAN Sound - One Hand Clap [Inspected]
  5. Statix - Escape
  6. KOAN Sound - Trouble In The West [Inspected]
  7. Culprate - Flatline
  8. Flatmate - Aube [Forthcoming Gradient Audio]
  9. Culprate - Curious George
  10. KOAN Sound - Max Out [Inspected]
  11. Culprate, Tekka & StickyDisco - Finger
  12. KOAN Sound - Mr. Brown [Inspected]
  13. KOAN Sound - Talk Box


Buy all of KOAN Sound's trackshere


    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Connect With Music Gateway
      Music Gateway is a new website that helps connect musicians and industry professionals, we spoke them to find out more and how Music Gateway can help you...

    • The Breakologists Launch UK Export Records
      The Breakologists recently sold their Breakology event and launched UK Export Records, we spoke to crew member Spinout to find out why.

    • Top 10 Videos July 2014
      Our run down of the best videos from July features the likes of Enei, Ayah Marar, Histibe, Rockwell and Benny Page.

    • SB81 Guest Mix
      Having just unleashed his new EP for Metalheadz, Kmag touches down for a mix and chat with SB81 about everything from growing up near Goldie's hood to the meaning behind his new name.

    • Top 5 Free Tracks
      Our weekly guide to the best free tracks to download features Judda, BTK, G.H.O.S.T, DJ Dubsta and Puzzle.

    • Introducing: G.H.O.S.T
      G.H.O.S.T are a new outfit consisting of four producers. Their releases have been picking up support from many of dnb's finest so we got in touch with Lewis, Matt and Will to find out more.

    • Top 5 Free Mixes
      Our weekly guide to the best mixes features Mr Joseph, DJ IBM, Kulak, Deekline and Eskmo.

    • Botchit and Scarper To Release Leukaemia Charity LP
      Beats and bass label Botchit & Scarper are to release Push Play, a compilation with all proceeds going to the African Caribbean Leukaemia Trust.

    • Callide and Intraspekt Interview
      Callide & Intraspekt's Outbreak EP is set to drop on Crissy Criss' The Zoooo imprint so we had a chat with them about it plus time travel, Ziggy-Wiggle-Robo-Pop-Step and reading each other's minds.

    • Kmag presents Fluid Los Angeles
      Kmag is proud to partner up with West Coast affiliate Chris Muniz as he launches Fluid Los Angeles on Sunday July 27.

    • Free Bass Music Stage Visuals Kit
      Accent and bass music clothing label Dataset have teamed up to release a free stage visuals kit designed specifically to be mixed with bass heavy music.

    • Kmag Presents Soul Flex Digital
      Our next Kmag Presents session at Cafe 1001 is on August 8 with Soul Flex Digital to launch their new 'Vintage' LP. We caught up with Dubsta to find out what's in store from the night and the album.

    • In The Studio: Break
      Break is giving other producers the chance to add a bit of his magic to their music with his Symmetry Drum & Bass sample pack. Here Break reveals how he works in the studio.

    • KG Gives Away Massive Preset Bank
      Drum & bass producer KG is giving away his Drum N Bass Preset Pack For Massive, find out how to get your hands on it...

    • Technimatic interview
      Since we last spoke to Technicolour & Komatic they've become Technimatic, signed to Shogun Audio and have written the 'Desire Paths', which is about to drop. High time for another chat then...



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter