New Label Profile: Soul Deep


10 Feb 2011



Soul Deep Recordings Logo


Soul Deep Recordings is a new drum & bass label brought to you by Bryn Green, aka Deeper Connection, and Scott Allen, aka Neosoul. Both have been DJing since the 90s have got into production in the last few years. We spoke to them to find out more...

Why have you set the label up?
To provide a medium to put out high standard music from established artists, as well as up and coming artists. We would like to provide a service that would help get their great music out to the masses. Our ethos is to release soul music to the people, whether it's deep, jazzy, liquid or atmospheric.

Is it a digital label or will you release vinyl too?
For now we will be releasing through a digital medium with some vinyl possible in the future. The label will launch on February 28th, with tracks available for purchase on all major mp3 websites. Our plan is to have a new release in stores every two weeks.

Tell us more about your key artists...
We have signed tracks by talented artists such as Phat Playaz, mSdos, Blade, MJT, Duoscience and Soultec, just to name a few. Phat Playaz are big in the game with releases on Fokuz, Telluric, Stepping Forward and Celsius. mSdos has releases on Nexgen and Stepping Forward to name just two. Soultec, who has a weekly spot on Bassdrive Radio every Saturday 1pm-3pm GMT, has music coming on TMG, Phuzion, Jazzsticks, Future Thinking and Think Deep. Blade has been featured on Good Looking, Telluric and TMG and is another producer that's been doing good things for a while now.

Are you looking for more artists and, if so, where should producers send demos?
We're always on the look out for new music. You can send demos to our dropbox on our SoundCloud page.

What's your release schedule in the coming months?
Projack's Mind Test EP is out now, then mSdos has an EP on Feb 12th, Duoscience's Infinite EP arrives on Feb 28th, Blade's EP comes on March 12th, Scott Allen & Deeper Connection's Primitive EP is on March 28th and MJT & Soultec have a release on April 12th.


Projack Mind Test .....Mind Test Ep SDR Jan (31st) by SOUL DEEP RECORDINGS


    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • New Era Launch Floral Collection
      New Era have launched the Island Pack, their latest collection of caps, tees, shorts, hoodies and varsity jackets. Get a sneak preview inside.

    • Top 10 Videos April 2014
      As usual, this month has thrown up some very special videos. We delve deep and pick out 10 of the best for you.

    • Kmag Presents The Hustle EP Launch Party
      We're delighted to welcome Diffrent Music back to Café 1001 for our next free Kmag Presents event on May 9 to launch Arkaik's new EP. Get the latest + some free downloads inside.

    • Ethic Guest Mix
      The latest addition to Caspa’s Dub Police label is Ethic. His debut EP, What Ya Call Me, is out now so we spoke to him about it and his approach to making music.

    • Carasel and Sinai Present AFT
      Carasel recently co-founded a drum & bass label called AFT with Sinai. We caught up with him find out more about what they have in store.

    • Kmag Blu Mar Ten Remix Competition 2014 Result
      We're pleased to announce the winner of the Kmag Blu Mar Ten Remix Competition 2014 was Conduct with Michiel van Erp runner-up.

    • Abducted LTD Guest Mix
      Dubstep label Abducted launch their d&b sister imprint Abducted LTD with a compilation called A New Breed. Label boss Dorian from Dioptrics tells us all about it and drops a guest mix.

    • Top 10 Rest Of The World Festivals 2014
      After looking at Europe, North America, the UK and Croatia, we wrap up the top festivals from other locations around the globe. Check out our selections for places to check out and festivals not to miss.

    • Basher Launches PROX:LTD
      Basher on why he's setting up a sister label to Proximity called PROX:LTD and what to expect...

    • Noisily Festival 2014 Preview
      Noisily Festival returns to Coney Woods, Leicestershire for the third year, find out what they've got in store for 2014.

    • The Essential... Low Life
      We look back at 15 essential records from the back catalogue of pioneering UK hip hop label Low Life.

    • Crissy Criss Guest Mix
      1Xtra host Crissy Criss fills us in on the hard work behind the glitz and glamour, his new Trinity EP for Technique and also drops an exclusive mix for Kmag readers.

    • Introducing: Fluid State Recordings
      Fluid State owner Liquid Gav tell us all about his new deep drum & bass label.

    • Supreme Being Guest Mix
      Supreme Being has been tearing up the dancefloor with his Loco EP on Image so we tracked him down for a chat and an exclusive guest mix.

    • Top 20 North American Festivals 2014
      In the latest of our festival rundowns, it's now the opportunity for dates in the US and Canada to take the spotlight. Check out our top 20 of this year's North American festivals.



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter