Introducing: Reaperz


25 Feb 2011





The Isle of Wight may not be the first place you think of when it comes to dancefloor-tearing drum & bass, but three-man crew Reaperz are looking to change all that.

Reaperz, Ricachet (Adam Flynn), N20 (Kyal Annis) and Taz (Tarran Foster), have been DJing and producing as a unit since 2008, and are responsible for club night Bass Jam on the Isle.

The group's success has been rapid, having released five tracks already, on labels such as Cyntax Error and Global Domination with around six more coming out soon. They were the recent winners of the Dope Ammo remix competition (Reaperz' version of Roots N Culture will be released imminently) and their track Dark Riddum will feature on the upcoming MC Fearless album.

Their sound is immediately obvious, with more drops than a plate-spinning contest, however, Drift Away shows they can expand their repertoire away from simply grind and grime. And their formula has proved popular - their first release Captain Kirk / Total Recall went to number one in the Nu Urban charts for three weeks, and every release since has also charted in the top 20 on Trackitdown and Nu Urban.

Next up will be It Wasn't Me / Afro Samurai (Cyntax Error) and Come Together (Dirty Digital), and with an impressive line-up of forthcoming releases, 2011 seems to be a big year for this young collective.

Words: Gideon Thomas




Dope ammo - roots and culture (Reaperz VIP) by reaperz


Reaperz - come together - dirty digital (forthcoming) by reaperz


    Related Links:

    Like it? Share it!
    Sign up for more with the Kmag weekly newsletter.






    • Ethic Guest Mix
      The latest addition to Caspa’s Dub Police label is Ethic. His debut EP, What Ya Call Me, is out now so we spoke to him about it and his approach to making music.

    • Carasel and Sinai Present AFT
      Carasel recently co-founded a drum & bass label called AFT with Sinai. We caught up with him find out more about what they have in store.

    • Kmag Blu Mar Ten Remix Competition 2014 Result
      We're pleased to announce the winner of the Kmag Blu Mar Ten Remix Competition 2014 was Conduct with Michiel van Erp runner-up.

    • Abducted LTD Guest Mix
      Dubstep label Abducted launch their d&b sister imprint Abducted LTD with a compilation called A New Breed. Label boss Dorian from Dioptrics tells us all about it and drops a guest mix.

    • Top 10 Rest Of The World Festivals 2014
      After looking at Europe, North America, the UK and Croatia, we wrap up the top festivals from other locations around the globe. Check out our selections for places to check out and festivals not to miss.

    • Basher Launches PROX:LTD
      Basher on why he's setting up a sister label to Proximity called PROX:LTD and what to expect...

    • Noisily Festival 2014 Preview
      Noisily Festival returns to Coney Woods, Leicestershire for the third year, find out what they've got in store for 2014.

    • The Essential... Low Life
      We look back at 15 essential records from the back catalogue of pioneering UK hip hop label Low Life.

    • Crissy Criss Guest Mix
      1Xtra host Crissy Criss fills us in on the hard work behind the glitz and glamour, his new Trinity EP for Technique and also drops an exclusive mix for Kmag readers.

    • Introducing: Fluid State Recordings
      Fluid State owner Liquid Gav tell us all about his new deep drum & bass label.

    • Supreme Being Guest Mix
      Supreme Being has been tearing up the dancefloor with his Loco EP on Image so we tracked him down for a chat and an exclusive guest mix.

    • Top 20 North American Festivals 2014
      In the latest of our festival rundowns, it's now the opportunity for dates in the US and Canada to take the spotlight. Check out our top 20 of this year's North American festivals.

    • 86 Beatz Launch Shattered
      On May 23rd 86 Beatz launch Shattered at Bar a Bar in London. We recently caught up with them to find out what they're all about.

    • Sigma Top Ten
      With their new single Nobody To Love out now on 3Beat we asked Sigma to share ten of their own favourite tracks...

    • Alpine PartyPlug Review
      We put Alpine's PartyPlugs through their paces at Hospitality at Motion in Bristol. Did they live up their claim of being the number one earplug?



    You have successfully unsubscribed from the Knowledge newsletter